Sign up to our monthly e-news update featuring the latest news, courses, resources & career opportunities / Subscribe now

Home » News » The Learning Journey

The Learning Journey

Teacher Training , Screening and Assessment , Professional Development , Individual Learning Plans
Skills for Life Network

A DfES resource that sets out the various stages in the Skills for Life learning process

The Learning Journey is defined in terms of the following stages:

  • Signposting/referral
  • Skills Check
  • Initial Assessment
  • Diagnostic assessment
  • Individual Learning Plan
  • Formative assessment
  • Summative assessment


‘The Learning Journey’ also gives guidelines on the professional qualification levels needed to support the various stages.


Go to Downloads to access a copy of The Learning Journey.



Further Information

No further information
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on google
Share on email
Share on print

Sign up for our e-News Update

You may also like

Train the Trainers in Advanced Practice

Train the Trainers in Advanced Practice

The #APConnect Northstar Train the Trainers in Advanced Practice pathway is an exciting, fresh and cutting-edge professional development opportunity for experienced Advanced Practitioners. 

EdTech Support Programme

EdTech Support Programme

The Manchester College offers fully-funded CPD to staff from all ESFA funded providers as part of their EdTech Support Programme.

Emojis In English and ESOL

Emojis In English and ESOL

Find out how FE practitioners from Kendal College and South Lakes Community Learning have been using emojis to help learners develop their vocabulary acquisition skills and confidence in using new words.